A Drupal Multi-Domain Product Presentation Website

Part of a multinational technological company, FUJIFILM AG distributes native products in Switzerland. Handling a broad spectrum of professional and personal-use appliances and supplies, it is a major distributor on both medical, industrial and photography industry. Moving from analog to digital, the company provides advanced technological equipment while remaining closely tied to photography and film. Due to the extent of the product variety, the new presentation website had both a complex structure and a huge amount of content.

Technical Details

Content Management System: Drupal
Features: Multilingual, Custom User Permissions, Content Management System

Dream Production Services

Fuji’s many departments cater to specific industries and deal with specific products and in doing so the company’s website had to reflect the same intricate structure.

The project’s biggest challenge was the creation of a multi-domain site architecture that would provide an unique working environment for each of Fuji’s business divisions.

Having implemented each division as a separate sub-site entity, we achieved two significant things. First, we simplified the choices editors were faced with in managing content, products and order requests. Second, we enabled autonomous control for admin users for each division in the backend. In doing so, user permission handling became a pivotal feature in developing the CMS.

This approach allowed us to customize the administration dashboard to match the peculiar requirements each division (and in some cases subdivisions) needed in order to manage their content. At the same time, by making proper use of Drupal modules such as the Domain Access Module (and related ones like Subfolder Domains, Domain Menu Access and Domain Access Entity), we managed to achieve an overall interface coherence in presenting the entire content management system as a whole.

Since we’re talking about project challenges, the amount of content on the website was certainly one of them. In broad terms, each product division deals with product categories, each of these having their subset of subcategories and subsequently, each item having its own specifications. The simple thought of having editors manually uploading this massive collection of data was overwhelming. As a result, we spent a good amount of creative energy in creating a custom feature that allows admin users to import product specification or even entire category structures from excel or csv files.

The presentation website available in both German and French serves both as a company portfolio and as a product index. Moreover the content is dynamic, so besides product listings, each division has the ability of publishing news and updates on events relevant for their industry.

All in all, building Fujifilm’s Swiss corporate website within the brand’s identity was no easy feat. However, managing to strike a balance between technical requirements and providing staff users and visitors a streamlined experience in using the website definitely payed off in terms of sheer satisfaction upon delivering this project.

Want to join our team?

We’re looking for talented and dedicated people that can make a difference through their professional experience and personal wit.

Apply now

Drupal-Website mit Multi-Domain-Architektur für die Produktpräsentation

Fujifilm Drupal Agentur

Die Fujifilm (Switzerland) AG ist eine Tochterfirma des multinationalen Technologiekonzerns und vertreibt dessen Produkte in der Schweiz. Als wichtiger Lieferant für die Sparten Medizin, Industrie und Fotografie bietet Fujifilm ein breites Spektrum von Geräten und Zubehör für den professionellen wie auch für den privaten Gebrauch. Den Wandel von der analogen zur digitalen Fotografie meisterte das Unternehmen, indem es sich rasch auf die neue Technologie ausrichtete, in den anderen Branchen aber eng mit der Fotografie und dem Film verbunden blieb. Angesichts der Vielfalt der Produkte waren bei der neuen Präsentationswebsite eine komplexe Struktur und eine riesige Menge an Inhalten zu bewältigen.

Content-Management-System:Drupal
Funktionalitäten:Mehrsprachig, massgeschneiderte Benutzerrechte, Content Management System

Leistungen von Dream Production

Die verschiedenen Unternehmensbereiche von Fujifilm sind auf spezifische Branchen ausgerichtet und decken daher unterschiedliche Produktpaletten ab. Diese komplizierte Struktur sollte die neue Website abbilden. Die grösste Herausforderung für uns bestand darin, mit Hilfe einer Multi-Domain-Seitenarchitektur für jedes Geschäftsfeld von Fujifilm eine eigene Arbeitsumgebung einzurichten.

Wir implementierten zunächst jede Geschäftseinheit als separate Subsite und erreichten damit zwei wichtige Ziele. Zum einen verringerten wir die Anzahl der Optionen, mit denen sich die Redakteure bei der Verwaltung von Inhalten, Produkten und Bestellanfragen befassen müssen.

Zum andern ermöglichten wir im Backend den Administratoren jeder Abteilung eine eigenständige Kontrolle. Dadurch wurde die Verwaltung von Benutzerrechten zu einem Schlüsselelement bei der Entwicklung des CMS.

Dank diesem Ansatz konnten wir das Dashboard für die Administratoren so anpassen, dass es die besonderen Anforderungen jeder Geschäftseinheit (in manchen Fällen sogar Untereinheit) optimal abdeckt. Gleichzeitig weist das Content Management System als Ganzes eine kohärente Benutzeroberfläche auf, was insbesondere auf den sinnvollen Einsatz des Domain Access Module und verwandter Drupal-Module wie Subfolder Domains, Domain Menu Access und Domain Access Entity zurückzuführen ist.

Eine weitere Herausforderung waren die umfangreichen Inhalte. Im Wesentlichen arbeitet jede Abteilung mit Haupt- und Unterkategorien von Produkten sowie den Produkten selbst mit ihren jeweiligen Spezifikationen. Es war schlicht undenkbar, dass die Redakteure diese Unmengen an Daten manuell hochladen würden. Wir steckten daher einige kreative Energie in die Entwicklung einer massgeschneiderten Funktionalität, damit die Administratoren Produktspezifikationen oder sogar ganze Kategoriestrukturen von Excel- oder CSV-Dateien importieren konnten.

Die Website, die in deutscher und französischer Sprache verfügbar ist, dient sowohl als Firmenpräsentation wie auch als Produktverzeichnis. Ihr Inhalt ist dynamisch, so dass jede Abteilung die Möglichkeit hat, neben den Produktlisten News und Updates zu veröffentlichen, die für ihre Branche relevant sind.

Alles in allem war die Schweizer Website von Fujifilm kein einfaches Projekt. Trotzdem ist es uns gelungen, die richtige Balance zwischen technischen Notwendigkeiten und einer optimalen Benutzererfahrung für Mitarbeiter und Besucher zu finden. Belohnt wurden wir dafür mit der Zufriedenheit des Kunden bei der Übergabe der Website.

Digital, persönlich und mit einer „Just do it“ Mentalität.
Suchen Sie einen Technologiepartner?

Kontaktieren Sie uns